Books like Game of Thrones

Missing Game of Thrones, here are 10 amazing series for you to read next!

Bored after finishing the final season of Game of Thrones? Wish the spinoffs and planned prequels would just get here faster already? Well, we’ve compiled a list of books that are actually reminiscent of the beloved series or even feature similar characters, adventures, and themes that you’ll enjoy reading about. Dig in!

Earthsea

by Ursula K Le Guin

While we’ve spoken about this book series in the ‘Authors who despised movie adaptations of their books’ article, here we’ll go a bit more in detail into this fantasy series. It follows the protagonist Ged, a reddish-brown complexioned mage who enrolls into a wizarding school but constantly gets into conflicts with his peers due to his prickly nature. He also faces off against villainous shadows and learns life lessons along this journey beset by hardships. The series was initially intended to subvert racist and bigoted norms enforced against oppressed races and also features a majority of characters who are of Native American descent.

The Accursed King

by Maurice Druon

This book, or rather series of 7 books, believe it or not, inspired A Song of Ice and Fire. It follows a French king named Philip of Fair who has brought about a curse upon his own family (hence the title). It also follows the events leading up to the hundred-year war and conflicts that arise between the Houses of Plantagenet in England and Valois in France, respectively. Translated from French, this work requires you to be attentive enough to follow its numerous plot points as well as to keep track of 60 diverse characters. You can also draw similarities between this series’ themes and those of Game of Thrones as both feature a large amount of deception, lies, lust, intrigue, drama, and more.

Wheel of Time

by Robert Jordan

A 14 book fantasy series, this is a treat for fans of lengthy novels and features a maze of story arcs that you won’t get enough of! You’ll be introduced to a world where women practice magic, but the same is off-limits to men. A group of friends from a small town also find themselves taken for a ride by life-altering events in a battle between light and dark forces. Apart from this, they discover that one of them has the ability to both bring a positive change to the world and at the same time yields the power to destroy it. While Robert Jordan passed away unexpectedly, his co-writer and lifelong fan Brandon Sanderson finished the rest of the series from extensive notes left behind by the former.

The Empire Trilogy

by Raymond Feist and Janny Wurts

Mara, a nun in training, finds herself taking up the reins of her father and brother’s kingdom after their deaths as the Ruling Lady of the Alcoma in this 27 book series which is part of the Riftwar trilogy. As soon as Mara begins to bend traditions and continue on her journey of becoming the most powerful ruler, however, she is beset by scheming, plotting, and assassination ploys galore. A pleasant surprise and welcome change is the fact that instead of setting the story in medieval Europe like every other epic fantasy series tends to; this epic instead features Asian elements that set it apart from its counterparts. 

Throne of Glass

by Sarah J Maas

This book is partially Game of Thrones and partially Hunger Games, thanks to its young protagonist, an eighteen-year-old assassin who soon after being released from prison is offered a shot at redemption by becoming the Kingdom’s Champion.

The Name of the Wind

by Patrick Rothfuss

Narrated in the third and first points of view and divided into two different sections, this coming-of-age novel follows Kvothe, who is on the path to becoming the most powerful wizard in the world. Honestly, though, what is with everyone in these books wanting to become the most powerful of them all…? Just settle for third best. Just saying…

Circe

by Madeleine Miller

Doesn’t this title sound a lot like Cersei though? This is a retelling of another strong woman- the Greek Goddess of sorcery, the titular Circe, who is defending her Kingdom against both mortal men and rulers of Olympus using her strength and ire. I’m sure Circe would’ve loved to have hung out with the strong female characters from Game of Thrones (Cersei, Daenerys, Sansa, Arya, et al.) and exchanged notes on being a bad-arse ruler and smashing the patriarchy!

Shadow and Bone

by Leigh Bardugo

Recently adapted as a Netflix show, this novel follows the teen orphan Alina who lives in Ravka and is recruited to serve in Grisha, the country’s military elite, when she’s discovered to possess magical powers. However, as the story unfolds, she also uncovers some dark secrets that threaten her beliefs.

The Vorrh

by Brian Catling

A blend of sci-fi, fantasy, steampunk, historical fiction, surrealism, horror, and every other genre you can think of, this is one expansive epic. It follows a man who has been sent into an immense, mystical forest in Africa which is off bounds to mortals as here, the rules of time and space are twisted by the forest itself, as and when it pleases! Furthermore, he is being followed by others with ulterior motives of their own. Described by critics and readers alike as a cross between Mad Max and Game of Thrones, this one is a dark and challenging read.

Black Leopard, Red Wolf

by Marlon James

Last but not least, Booker prize winner Marlon James presents his most ambitious work, yet that he best describes as an African Game of Thrones that draws from African mythology. A hunter named Tracker, who is known for his strong sense of picking up scents, is hired to track down a mysterious young man who went missing three years ago. The plot thickens as Tracker finds himself in the midst of unusual creatures who are man-animal hybrids, one of whom calls themselves ‘Leopard’.

And that’s it for now. We hope you enjoy reading our picks after you’ve finished bingeing Game of Thrones, of course. And do share this post with fellow literary nerds. We hope to bring you a lot more content, so stay tuned & happy reading!

We independently review the best books and services. Some of our links are referral links. We only make money if you purchase products through our links, and we never accept free services in exchange for a favorable review. 

Read more amazing stories

12 Vampire Romances to Sink Your Teeth Into

Beyond just Twilight, lies an unexplored plethora of vampire romances that will satisfy all your lustful reading needs. I’ve compiled a few here that are

Adore Romance Stories Beta

Fill out the form below and get an exclusive invite to the hottest new interactive story game before it’s released!

Free Character Template Signup

Fill out the form below and you’ll get a download link to the Character Template shortly! 

Free Stories in your Inbox

Join our community of romantics and get a free bonus short story!